Site Tools

 
 
 

user_types

User types

A user’s type defines the set of permissions and capabilities that he has in working with eFrontPro. You have the option to fine-tune the permissions of the built-in user types (Administrator, Professor and Student) or add new user types based on the existing ones.

The set of permissions and capabilities that you can fine-tune includes whether the user type can view or edit other Users, Courses, Lessons, Groups, Branches, Skills, Announcements, Themes, etc.

The User Types section shows a tabular listing of the available user types, and provides buttons to edit an existing user type or add a new one.

Adding a user type

To add a new user type, click the “Add User Type” button, enter a new name for the new type (e.g. “Admin Helper” or “Course Manager”), select an existing user type it will be based on, and configure his permissions.

Mini How-To: Editing a User Type

Creating or editing a user type mostly concerns changing his permissions.

The three built-in user types (Administrator, Professor (Instructor) and Student) can serve as the templates to base your custom user type permissions on, by selecting the “Basic User Type” for your user type.

Note that this will change the permissions of your user type to the ones that the basic user type has, so it’s best to only do it when you begin editing a new user type, to avoid losing your changes.

Permissions are applied to eFrontPro’s entities, such as courses, lessons, users, groups, jobs, branches, etc, and can be “Disabled” (not applicable to this user), “View” (user can view this item), “Edit” (user can view and edit this item’s properties) and “Add/Edit” (user can edit this items properties and create new items of the same kind).

Thus, a user with the following permissions:

User type permissions

  • Can Add, View and Edit (Add/Edit) Courses.
  • Can View and Edit Users, User Types, Categories (“Edit”)
  • Can only View Groups
  • Doesn’t have access to View or Edit Branches,Jobs (“Disabled”)

Note that if you can “Edit” an item, it is implied that you can also “View” it (but not the reverse).